KELOWNA – Deanna Hamilton was one of 32 British Columbians honoured at the 11th annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards’ ceremony held at Government House in Victoria yesterday.

Westbank First Nation leader Deanna Hamilton has had a permanent effect on her community and First Nations across BC and Canada in administration and governance. She oversaw the development of the First Nations Finance Authority, established WFN’s system of property tax, was a board member on the WFN’s Self-Government Agreement and Constitution Committee, Kelowna Chamber of Commerce, the BC Assessment Authority and the All Nations Trust Company.