Westside-Kelowna MLA Ben Stewart, Kelowna-Lake Country MLA Norm Letnick, and Kelowna-Mission MLA Steve Thomson presented the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medals to 12 deserving citizens in recognition of their significant achievements and distinguished service to their communities. They are:

  • Joe Iafrancesco
  • Dr. Richard Hooper
  • Walley Lightbody
  • Steve Tuck
  • Paramjit Patara
  • Alan Dolman
  • Leona Ruth Holmberg
  • Anne Robinson
  • John Byland
  • Lionel T. Wace
  • Margaret Dawson
  • Moyra Baxter

 Why this Matters:

  •  Medal recipients have made a significant contribution to a province, territory, region or community   within Canada, or an achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada.
  • Like Her Majesty, those recognized have dedicated themselves to service their fellow citizens, their community, and their country.
  • Canada is strengthened when we collectively honour those who have distinguished themselves by virtue of their talents and their service to the community.


“These recipients exemplify the best in all of us, a life of service to our community, province, and country. Their service above self serves as a positive role model for all, young and old.”

–          Kelowna-Lake Country MLA Norm Letnick

 “I’m extremely proud to see these people recognized for their tremendous service.  They are distinguished men and women, who have each worked to make the community better.”

–          Westside-Kelowna MLA Ben Stewart

“We have some incredible people within our community. All of them work tirelessly behind the scenes, with no pay, to make our community better, and are all very deserving of this recognition.”

–          Kelowna-Mission MLA Steve Thomson

For more information:

To learn more about the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee visit: http://www.gg.ca/document.aspx?id=14019&lan=eng